Society

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Society

when we talk about the great Beethoven, we say his name in awe. While I myself love his music, Not many people know exactly how he as a man changed society. Maybe one of you can help me on this one. Its hard to explain and Im new at this stuff.

-Kitsune

I can say that he changed the role of the artist in the society. Before him, artists worked for the aristocracy and for the fees they received. After him, the artist became independent, and started working for his own Muse, and not for a supporting patron. An example of this is when Ludwig van left angrily Count Lichnowsky's residence, leaving a note: "There are many Count Lichnowskys... There is only one Beethoven"
    He created the concept of the artist as an idol, something that has survived until today (although the "artists" of our days are not so remarkable as Beethoven, of course).

Comment