How did you come to love Beethoven?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How did you come to love Beethoven?

I'm a newbie here and forgive me if this has been covered elsewhere but I'm curious as to how and why people develop a passion for Beethoven. I was never even much into classical music until about 3 years ago when I began listening to Classic fm. The first time I heard the slow movement from the 'Emperor' concerto I couldn't believe it was Beethoven. I picked up a cd of the 9th symphony in a charity shop and after that I was hooked! I've been to 3 concerts. 2nd, 5th and 9th symphonies and will definately be going to more. It's hard (almost impossible!) to pick a favourite piece but I really love the 2nd movement of Piano Concerto No 3, sublime! I love learning about his life and it has definately made me appreciate his music even more. My son has promised to take me to Bonn, can't wait!
    My misfortune is doubly painful, I was bound to be misunderstood. LvB

Welcome to the forum! Beethoven is difficult to resist. In my own experience, I came across his music through an easy band arrangement, in school, of the Eroica Symphony. After that I was hooked.

Comment

When I was young, perhaps 6 or 7, I had a cassette tape of some of Beethoven's "Greatest Hits", including the first movement of the Fifth Symphony, the first movement of the "Moonlight" Sonata, and "Fur Elise", and that was really the beginning for me.

Also, around the same time, I found an old copy of "Fur Elise" in the piano bench with all the note names written in. It was my mother's from when she was a girl and took piano lessons, and she was able to use it to teach me the piece years before I ever took a piano lesson! (Minus the middle parts.) I also found an easy little arrangement of the the "Ode to Joy" theme in one of her lesson books and was able to learn it myself. So a large part of it also was playing these two pieces on the piano a lot when I was young.

Comment