Ignorance.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ignorance.

I was at work today at a well known jewellers (which I do part time to pay for instrumental tuition and also perhaps more importantly beer whilst I study) and it happened to come up in conversation that I was a student. Basically when I told them that I studied music they said that it was a 'mickey mouse' subject. "What are you going to do with that then?" I was asked. I told them that there were many things I could go into but I was thinking of either being a professional singer or a composer or even both. Not only did they spend the next TEN (!) minutes going on about 'classical' music and how boring and what a waste of time it all was but then they started going on about paying for all these students to go to university and laze about doing nothing and spending all the governments money! I nearly smacked them both over the head with the 'nice' piece of porcelain they were looking at!

Why are people so ignorant to people of the arts? Would I have received the same reaction if I said I was doing biological sciences, engineering or maths? I think the amswer is no. As for the remarks about the music which I love and live for well, what can I say? Should I have to keep on apolgising for being an arts student and for the music that I study?

Please tell I'm not going mad.

Claire
    XXXX

I don't know. Going into music is an abysmally stupid career move. Of course, if money is not your main concern, then you might as well have fun with your carrer, and what's more fun than music?

Comment

Originally posted by Chris:
      I don't know. Going into music is an abysmally stupid career move. Of course, if money is not your main concern, then you might as well have fun with your carrer, and what's more fun than music?

What would you rather be- happy but not with a load of cash, or totally unhappy but rolling in it?

Comment