Piano Trios

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Piano Trios

I found a 3 cd set of B's piano trios by 'Trio Fontenay', and am thrilled with it, very exciting and the sound is fabulous. I'm new to these trios and would be interested in hearing about anybody elses' favourite recordings.
    Thanks!

Susan

First I have to say how lucky you are to be discovering the trios for the first time !

I have recordings of the 'Ghost' and 'Archduke' by the Beaux Arts Trio on Philips and the Op.1 trios played on period instruments by the Castle trio.

------------------
    'Man know thyself'
    'Man know thyself'

Comment

Thanks, I'd like to hear what these trios sound like on period instruments so I'll check this out.
      I'd heard some movements of the trios by themselves, but not the complete pieces. Loved the 2nd movement of the 'Ghost', and when I finally heard the entire piece on this cd, I was completely taken. Unbelievable! I've long thought his sonatas were the best (I have a piano fixation ), but these trios are right up there. His use of the cello (violincello) is so powerful; geez I'd love to hear some of these pieces live!

Susan

Comment

Originally posted by Susan:
        I've long thought his sonatas were the best (I have a piano fixation ), but these trios are right up there. His use of the cello (violincello) is so powerful; geez I'd love to hear some of these pieces live!

Susan
        Beethoven never disappoints ! - All the Chamber music is 'right up there'. I agree, nothing compares to a live performance and the pleasure of sharing the experience with others.

------------------
        'Man know thyself'
        'Man know thyself'

Comment

Thanks, I'd like to hear what these trios sound like on period instruments so I'll check this out.